Mohsen Guizani


Mohsen Guizani (Fellow, IEEE) received the BS (with distinction), MS and PhD degrees in Electrical and Computer engineering from Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY, USA in 1985, 1987 and 1990, respectively. He is currently a Professor of Machine Learning at the Mohamed Bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence (MBZUAI), Abu Dhabi, UAE. Previously, he worked in different institutions in the USA. His research interests include applied machine learning and artificial intelligence, smart city, Internet of Things (IoT), intelligent autonomous systems, and cybersecurity. He became an IEEE Fellow in 2009 and was listed as a Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher in Computer Science in 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022. Dr. Guizani has won several research awards including the “2015 IEEE Communications Society Best Survey Paper Award”, the Best ComSoc Journal Paper Award in 2021 as well 5 Best Paper Awards from ICC and Globecom Conferences. He is the author of 11 books, more than 1000 publications and several US patents. He is also the recipient of the 2017 IEEE Communications Society Wireless Technical Committee (WTC) Recognition Award, the 2018 AdHoc Technical Committee Recognition Award, and the 2019 IEEE Communications and Information Security Technical Recognition (CISTC) Award. He served as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Network and is currently serving on the Editorial Boards of many IEEE Transactions and Magazines. He was the Chair of the IEEE Communications Society Wireless Technical Committee and the Chair of the TAOS Technical Committee. He served as the IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Speaker and is currently the IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Lecturer.

Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo

Professor & Cloud Technology Endowed Professorship Assistant Department Chair of ISCS,
University of Texas at San Antonio


Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo received the Ph.D. in Information Security in 2006 from Queensland University of Technology, Australia. Prior to starting his Cloud Technology Endowed Professorship at The University of Texas at San Antonio, he spent five years working for the University of South Australia, five years working for the Australian Government Australian Institute of Criminology, and five years working for the Singapore Police Force. He was also a visiting scholar at INTERPOL Global Complex for Innovation in 2015, a visiting Fulbright scholar at Rutgers University School of Criminal Justice and Palo Alto Research Center (formerly Xerox PARC) in 2009, and an Honorary Commander, 502nd Air Base Wing, Joint Base San Antonio-Fort Sam Houston, from 2017 to 2019.

He is the founding co-Editor-in-Chief of ACM Distributed Ledger Technologies: Research & Practice, and the founding Chair of IEEE Technology and Engineering Management Society Technical Committee (TC) on Blockchain and Distributed Ledger Technologies.

His research on cyber security and forensics has been supported by U.S. funding agencies (NASA, National Security Agency, National Science Foundation, U.S. Department of Defense, U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency, CPS Energy, LGS Innovations, MITRE, Texas National Security Network Excellence Fund) and Australian funding agencies (National Health and Medical Research Council, Australian Government National Drug Law Enforcement Research Fund, Australian Government Cooperative Research Centre for Data to Decision, Lockheed Martin Australia, auDA Foundation, Government of South Australia, BAE Systems stratsec, Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration Incorporated, Australian Research Council).

He is the recipient of the 2022 IEEE Hyper-Intelligence TC Award for Excellence in Hyper-Intelligence Systems (Technical Achievement award), the 2022 IEEE TC on Homeland Security Research and Innovation Award, the 2022 IEEE TC on Secure and Dependable Measurement Mid-Career Award, and the 2019 IEEE TC on Scalable Computing Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing (Middle Career Researcher). He is also a Clarivate™ Web of Science’s Highly Cited Researcher (Cross-Field – 2020, Computer Science – 2021 & 2022).